An FR44 necessitates “high risk” drivers to carry minimum liability limits of 100/300/50. That means bodily injury coverage of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident and $50,000 for property damage.
Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) – helps to pay for medical expenses if someone is injured in a crash and you are at fault. An FR44 requires you to have $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.
Property Damage Liability- is protection in case you damage another vehicle in an accident. You must carry $50,000. Higher limits are available if you need more.
An FR44 is compulsory for 3 years from the original suspension date unless otherwise determined by the state. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles can provide you with the exact date your condition ends.
If your car insurance policy is canceled while you are still required to have an FR44 your insurance company will notify the proper state authorities. Failure to maintain continuous coverage, resulting in a lapse, cancellation or termination of the policy will result in an automatic suspension of your license under Florida law.
Compliance with Florida‘s financial responsibility law will help to reinstate your driver’s license. An FR44 places no restrictions on your driver’s license. If you do not own a vehicle but drive, you can apply for non-owners FR44. An FR44 for motorcycles and mopeds is also available.